Wishes by Starlight: A Tale of Cinderella (HighTower Fairytales: Book 15) by Jacque Stevens

Book Cover

Publisher: sjacquebooks

Date of publication: January 1st, 2021

Genre: Fantasy, Romance

Series: HighTower Fairytales

Winter Falls—Book 1 (review here)

Cry Wolf—Book 2

Lone Wolf—Book 3

Wolf in Sheep’s Clothing—Book 4

Between Dog and Wolf—Book 5

Wolves at Bay—Book 6

Depths—Book 7

Graves—Book 8

Storms—Book 9

Robin’s Hood—Book 10

Marian’s Man—Book 11

Lion’s Heart—Book 12

Letters by Cinderlight—Book 14 (Review Here)

Wishes by Starlight—Book 15

Purchase Links: Amazon

Format Read: Published Book

Received From: Author

Goodreads Synopsis:

I, Elya Pavlovna, went to the prince’s Maslenitsa celebration, and I’m still not sure who I am or what will happen next.

After running from a fairy and a prince, Elya is on her own for the first time. The unknown wilds are dark and dangerous, but she knows that if she is found she could be used to destroy everything she has come to love.

But with her sisters asking for her help and her beloved prince in distress, hiding might no longer be an option.

The slipper fits, now will she wear it?

If you like inspirational heroines, unique love stories, and untrustworthy fae, this romantic fantasy retelling is for you! One-click now to start the magic, romance, and heart-wrenching emotional journey!

Wishes by Starlight is the direct sequel to Letters by Cinderlight, a twist on the Cinderella story based in Slavic mythology and full of magical fairies with stories of their own.

First Line:


Valiant says you ran, that no one forced you to go.

Wishes by Starlight by Jacque Stevens

I was very excited to start reading Wishes by Starlight. After the cliffhanger ending of Letters by Cinderlight, I needed to know what would happen to Elya and if she would get her happy ending.

Elya’s character had a lot of growth during the course. I loved watching her realize her worth and overcome the trauma of the abuse she suffered. That first started when she stopped local boys from teasing her stepsisters and continued throughout the book. I had tears in my eyes when she finally faced Charming.

Charming was the real MVP of the book. He did what the people of her village couldn’t or wouldn’t do; he stood up for her. He also gave her time (well, kind of) while writing letters in the magical book to Elya. I believe he would have waited forever for her if Lady Mother hadn’t done what she did.

The author ended the storyline with Elya’s abuse in a very satisfying way. Finally, Lady Mother got what she deserved. I cheered when Elya did what she did. Lady Mother deserved it.

The end of Wishes by Starlight was terrific. Finally, everyone got their happy endings. I loved when Lada showed up and validated everything. What she said as she left made me laugh (and made me wonder if she would be a regular appearance in their lives).

Wishes by Starlight was a great book to read. It kept my attention, and I loved seeing Elya find her happy ending.

I would recommend Wishes by Starlight to anyone over the age of 16. There is mild violence.

Ignite (Dark Kings Series: Book 15) by Donna Grant

Ignite: A Dark Kings Novel by [Grant, Donna]

4 Stars:

Publisher: St. Martin’s Press, St. Martin’s Paperbacks

Date of publication: April 30th, 2019

Genre: Fantasy, Romance, Paranormal

Series: Dark Kings

Dark Craving—book 0.1

Night’s Awakening—book 0.2

Dawn’s Desire—book 0.3

Passion’s Claim—book 0.4

Darkest Flame—book 1

Fire Rising—book 2

Burning Desire—book 3

Hot Blooded—book 4

Night’s Blaze—book 5

Soul Scorched—book 6

Dragon King—book 6.5

Passion Ignites—book 7

Smoldering Hunger—book 8

Smoke and Fire-–book 9

Dragon Fever—book 9.5

Firestorm—book 10

Blaze—book 11

Dragon Burn—book 11.5

Constantine: A History—book 11.6

Heat—book 12 (review here)

Torched—book 13

Dragon Night—book 13.5

Dragonfire—book 14 (review here)

Dragon Claimed—book 14.5

Ignite—book 15

Fever—book 16 (expected publication date is October 29th, 2019)

Where you can find Ignite: Amazon | Barnes and Noble | BookBub

Book synopsis:

Every inch of him was molded as if from granite…and her blood ran like fire… 

For centuries, V has waited to awaken from his doomed sleep and reclaim his destiny. But this Dragon King–one among a legion of legendary warriors sworn to protect the human race from darkness–must first find a way to win back his sword. Wield its power. And try not to fall prey to his own illicit desires.

Claire may possess the beauty and soul of a goddess but V knows better than to mess with a mere mortal. Still, he instinctively knows that Claire is The One who can help him regain the use of his sword and restore his place at Dreagan. But if she learns the truth about who–and what–he really is, her memories of him would be erased forever. How can V love Claire truly, madly, deeply…and protect her from the forces of fire and darkness that could destroy them both?

My Review:

I can’t even begin to express how excited I was to read this book. My excitement grew when I saw that it was V and Claire’s story. I couldn’t wait to read Ignite. Ignite more than lived up to my expectations!!

I loved Claire, and I would read her chapters with a grin on my face. Her ups and downs with dating were amusing. I found myself laughing more during this book than I have in the other books that I reviewed. I did figure out one of her secrets. It wasn’t too hard. The other one, though, I was surprised.

I couldn’t get enough of V in this book. He was dealing with a lot at the beginning of the book. He couldn’t use his sword (and not that one, dirty mind!!!). Since he couldn’t use the sword, he couldn’t call the dragons home. He was starting to get depressed and was going back to sleep when he noticed Claire. I loved how he seesawed back and forth on dating her. In my head, during those scenes, I was yelling at him to “Just go for it!!“.

Dragon on Light Up LED Orb Statue

I loved the plotlines of Ignite. I couldn’t put the book down. It was so fast paced that I was afraid that it was going to burn itself out in spots. I liked that the author was able to juggle a few storylines without letting any lag happen. The storylines were V and Claire’s love story, the Others, and Usaeil’s scheming.

I was frustrated with the lack of information on the Others and why they existed. I wanted to know what they wanted to defeat the Dragon Kings. Hints were given but still. I want to know now! I am sure more will be revealed as this series (and the other series) continue.

I was so upset over what Usaeil did to V and Claire. My heart dropped, and yes, I started to cry. That wasn’t fair to them. I am hoping that Rhi can find her and end her. That will be a death that I will be happy to read.

LEGO Elves Rosalyn’s Healing Hideout

The end of Ignite was interesting. Another of the Others came out of the shadows. Alliances were made. People disappeared. None of the storylines were wrapped up. All the questions I have about the Others are making me read the next book.

V and Claire had unbelievable chemistry. It sparked in every single scene that they had together. Their first sexual encounter (notice I didn’t say the first time they had sex) was nothing short of amazing. And let’s not forget the first time they had sex. Blazing hot!!

I would give Ignite an Adult rating. There is sex. There is violence. There is language. I would recommend that no one under the age of 21 read this book.

I would like to thank the author, the publisher, and NetGalley for allowing me to read and review Ignite.