Its Monday! What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? a place to meet up and share what you have been, and are about to be reading over the week. It’s a great post to organize yourself. It’s an opportunity to visit and comment and er… add to your groaning TBR pile! So welcome in everyone. This meme started on J Kaye’s blog and then was hosted by Sheila from Book Journey. Sheila then passed it on to Kathryn here at The Book Date.

Jen Vincent, Teach Mentor Texts, and Kellee of Unleashing Readers decided to give It’s Monday! a kidlit focus. If you read and review books in children’s literature – picture books, chapter books, middle grade novels, young adult novels or anything in those genres – join them.


What I Am Reading Now:

Something Borrowed
Something old. Something new…?

When Chloe Cassidy is jilted at the altar it’s all her nightmares rolled into one. Her mother is convinced she’s the victim of the family curse. Her sister believes she just hasn’t found The One yet. But Chloe’s not listening; she’s too busy taking her humiliation out on the infuriating best man, Vaughn Brooks.

Three months later, Something Borrowed—her wedding planning business— is failing. In a last ditch attempt to save it, Chloe is forced to swallow her pride, and work with the enemy: too-hot for his own good, award-winning chef Vaughn. She soon realizes the sparks flying between them are nothing to do with their dubious past, but from something else altogether…

This fun perfect summer read features one sizzling chef, a meddling family and a wedding planner who’s given up on love.

What I Plan on Reading This Week:

Marrying Miss Marshal
A Woman in a Man’s Job

Filling the shoes of her late husband as town marshal hasn’t been easy for Danna Carpenter. She’s not only fighting criminals, she’s also fighting to earn the respect of the townspeople. So crossing paths with tenderfoot detective Chas O’Grady is the last thing she needs. He’s hunting a band of cattle rustlers and isn’t used to the rugged Wyoming landscape. Teaming up is their only option, but when circumstances place them in a compromising situation, the town forces a more permanent partnership — marriage. If they can let down their guards with each other they might find that love is the greatest catch of all.
Mutts Like Me (The Awakening #1)
All I ever wanted for the holidays was to have my family together. Unfortunately, with my mother dead, my grandmother drunk most of the time, and my dad… well, who knew who he was, much less where he’d disappeared to. No brothers, sisters, or cousins that I knew of.

Until now.

I just found out there’s a whole other world out there that I’m a part of, thanks to my dad.
Who it turns out is a freakin’ werewolf.
And still missing, by the way.

But now it seems I might be able to track him down – if I can just survive long enough to learn the truth about what happened to him, and somehow resist the pull of the silver-eyed fox who kidnapped me.

Happy flippin’ holidays to me.

Mutts Like Me. The stand alone first in a series set in the world of The Awakening, where every supernatural creature you ever heard of is not only real, they’re coming out of the closet and into the streets.
Infection (Emergence #1)
An epic struggle for survival between humans and a twisted mutation of undead begins in Emergence—the first book in a pulse-pounding post-apocalyptic series by author JT Sawyer. When a CIA bioweapons ship goes dark, operative Will Reisner and his team are sent to the South China Sea to investigate. As their mission unfolds, a deadly parasitic virus takes hold in cities around the globe, turning its victims into worm-riddled creatures bent on infecting others to increase their numbers, linked by a mysterious mental connection. After barely making it out alive, Reisner reluctantly joins forces with epidemiologist Selene Munroe, who has been trying to discover the origins of the virus to prevent humanity from being completely consumed by the horrific fiend that has been unleashed upon the world. Emergence is a bold reinvention of the well-worn zombie theme that will have you gripping the edge of your seat.
Stryker (Stryker #1)
From the bestselling author, Bobby Andrews, comes a thrilling new tale of a post-apocalyptic world. ISIS has unleashed a weaponized version of the deadly Ebola virus, killing 97% of the world’s population. Only the immune and those who hunkered down in remote locations remain.
Through the chaos strides a giant of a man known only as Stryker. He is a former Force Recon Marine, who has lost as much as anyone, but fights to preserve his honor and creed in the face of slave traders and rogue military elements who prey on the innocent. Together with his former Drill Instructor, Sarge, they struggle to eliminate the remaining evil elements in society, even as the nation’s infrastructure crumbles and life becomes considerably more difficult. Together, they care for three young women who survived the plague and attempt to give them lives that are as normal as possible under the circumstances.
Follow along as they travel through a world gone mad, determined to defend the weak and innocent against long odds.
Shadow Pack (Michael Biörn, #1)
Michael Biörn is a predator. Killing comes naturally to him. It’s in his blood.

Don’t judge him too fast, though. All his victims deserve to die.

After answering Lieutenant Harrington’s call for help, Michael finds himself in Houston staring at a peculiar crime scene. An expert in preternatural wildlife, he immediately identifies the killer as a werewolf. The motivation behind the murder remains unclear, but one thing is certain, Michael has no desire to stick his nose in wolf business. After all, the werewolves have hunted down his kin to the brink of extinction, and as the sole survivor of his lineage, he strives to keep a low profile.

Michael’s resolve vanishes when he finds Harrington and his wife savagely murdered in their home. As he sets to unearth the true motivations behind his friends’ slaying, the body count rises, and Michael soon becomes a suspect in the eyes of the law. But the police are the least of his concerns; the werewolves have uncovered his true nature, and they are coming for him.

The books in the Michael Biörn series are Whodunit Mysteries with an Urban Fantasy backdrop in the tradition of Jim Butcher, Patricia Briggs and Christine Feehan.

Posted by

I love to read. My favorite genres women's fiction, romance (including erotica), psychological thrillers, fantasy, and young adult. I also enjoy steampunk, dystopian, LGBTQIA, and paranormal. I am also a busy mom of 3 kids.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.