WWW Wednesday: April 24th, 2019

IMG_1384-0

WWW Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Wars.

The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?


Personal:

Miss R: She has a month left of preschool. I am in disbelief. This year has flown by. She also had a great Easter. Tons of chocolate and a few Dollar Store toys and she was happy. She is also happy that it is spring break here. She has been running herself ragged playing outside each day. The only downside, for her, is that she gets a shower every night because she is filthy.

Miss B: She is getting her braces (top and bottom) on tomorrow. And she has been a nervous freaking wreck. I can’t wait for tomorrow to be over with. She is enjoying her spring break, though. Sleeping in and spending copious time on the Xbox/her laptop.

Mr Z: Same old, same old with him. He is going back to the orthodontist the first week of May to get some hardware in and then he’s getting teeth pulled. I do want to brag about him for a minute. He brought home his benchmark test (prepping for end of grade testing) and he scored a 100% in reading. I was very proud of him!!!

Me: Nothing going on with me this week and I am enjoying it. Next week on, I am busy. Mr. Z’s 6th grade orientation, Miss B’s final band concert + trip to Carowinds, Miss R’s preschool graduation + T-ball games + other stuff I can’t remember equals a busy month.

Reading/Reviews/Blog:

I read a ton this past weekend. For mid spring in NC, it was surprisingly cold and rainy and we spent Saturday inside. Sunday was Easter and I read after dinner. With all this reading, I ended up reading everything on last week’s WWW Wednesday….lol. And I had a lot of books on that post.

If I am behind on reviews. If I am behind on reviews, I’m ahead on reading. If I am behind on reading, I am ahead on reviews. Can’t strike that balance…grrr.

I have been getting a ton of blog tour/excerpt requests. Which I like. I have also been getting a lot of publisher requests. I have a couple of new publishers who are contacting me. Which is surprising since I have written a not so great review for the last book I reviewed by them. I also have been getting a ton of author requests. Again, I love it. Indie authors started me on my book review journey and I will always accept them.

I did change my blog’s theme at one point over the weekend. Then changed it back to the one I have now because I didn’t like it. Looks like this one is the one folks!!! I am still playing around with colors. But, white background with black letters seem to be what I am going to use.


What I am currently reading:

The Roads to Damascus: A Mystery Novel (Appalachian Mountain Mysteries Book 2) by [McDaniel, Lynda]

click on the picture for the Amazon link

Abit is back! Four years after that fateful summer in “A Life for a Life,” Abit Bradshaw faces the biggest challenge of his life in “The Roads to Damascus,” the much-anticipated second book in the Appalachian Mountain Mysteries trilogy. When a family of con artists fleeces his school and casts suspicion on him, Abit, with the support of his friends Della Kincaid and Alex Covington, sets out to find them and get payback. He takes a life-changing journey from Washington, D.C., through the mountains of Virginia, and finally home again to Laurel Falls, N.C. Along the way, he draws on every bit of courage and faith he can muster as he encounters a slew of characters—from sinners to saints—who help him come to terms with his rightful place in the world.


I recently finished reading:

Pray for the Girl by [Souza, Joseph]

click on the picture for the Amazon link

Joseph Souza, acclaimed author of The Neighbor, brings readers into the dark heart of a small town in this riveting, relentlessly twisting new novel . . .

Lucy Abbott never pictured herself coming back to Fawn Grove, Maine. Yet after serving time in Afghanistan, then years spent as a sous chef in New York, she’s realized her only hope of moving on from the past involves facing it again. But Fawn Grove, like Lucy herself, has changed.

Lucy’s sister, Wendy, is eager to help her adapt, almost stifling her with concern. At the local diner, Lucy is an exotic curiosity–much like the refugees who’ve arrived in recent years. When a fifteen-year-old Muslim girl is found murdered along the banks of the river, difficult memories of Lucy’s time overseas come flooding back and she feels an automatic connection. At first glance, the tragedy looks like an honor killing. But the more Lucy learns about her old hometown, the less certain that seems.

There is menace and hostility here, clothed in neighborly smiles and a veneer of comfort. And when another teen is found dead in a cornfield, his throat slit, Lucy–who knows something about hiding secrets–must confront a truth more brutal than she could have imagined, in the last place she expected it . . .


What books I think I’ll read next? (click on the pictures for Amazon links)

Welcome the Little Children: A Mystery Novel (Appalachian Mountain Mysteries Book 3) by [McDaniel, Lynda]

Missing mother. Neglected children. Lost love. Abit and Della have their work cut out for them.

Meet Astrid, a sprite of a girl whose mother goes missing from her isolated log cabin. Abit Bradshaw and Della Kincaid get entangled in the investigation, searching for answers from the mountains of N.C. to the streets of D.C. Along the way, they come face-to-face with the lies and secrets plaguing their own families. Meanwhile, Abit struggles with a decision that could cost him everything he holds dear.

The Scent of Murder: A Mystery (A Jazz Ramsey Mystery Book 1) by [Logan, Kylie]

First in a new series from national bestselling author Kylie Logan, The Scent of Murder is a riveting mystery following Jazz Ramsey as she trains cadaver dogs.

The way Jazz Ramsey figures it, life is pretty good. She’s thirty-five years old and owns her own home in one of Cleveland’s most diverse, artsy, and interesting neighborhoods. She has a job she likes as an administrative assistant at an all-girls school, and a volunteer interest she’s passionate about—Jazz is a cadaver dog handler.

Jazz is working with Luther, a cadaver dog in training. Luther is still learning cadaver work, so Jazz is putting him through his paces at an abandoned building that will soon be turned into pricey condos. When Luther signals a find, Jazz is stunned to see the body of a young woman who is dressed in black and wearing the kind of make-up and jewelry that Jazz used to see on the Goth kids back in high school.

She’s even more shocked when she realizes that beneath the tattoos and the piercings and all that pale make up is a familiar face.

The lead detective on the case is an old lover, and the murdered woman is an old student. Jazz finds herself sucked into the case, obsessed with learning the truth.

A Safe Place (The Devereux Family Book 1) by [Watson, Margaret]

Tough, tender-hearted Frankie Devereux doesn’t have time to babysit a smooth-talking football player who’s supposed to be doing community service at her after-school center for troubled teens. She’s dealing with serious stuff – gang problems, a homeless pregnant girl and scraping together enough money to keep her center open. 

But when a dark secret from her past threatens Frankie and the existence of her program, Cal tries to step up and help. But with his career on the line, which will he choose? Football? Or Frankie and her vulnerable kids? 

We Went to the Woods: A Novel by [Dolan-Leach, Caite]

They went off the grid. Their secrets didn’t. For readers of The Secret History and The Immortalists comes a novel about the allure–and dangers–of disconnecting.

Certain that society is on the verge of economic and environmental collapse, five disillusioned twenty-somethings make a bold decision: They gather in upstate New York to transform an abandoned farm, once the site of a turn-of-the-century socialist commune, into an idyllic self-sustaining compound called the Homestead.

Louisa spearheads the project, as her wealthy family owns the plot of land. Beau is the second to commit; as mysterious and sexy as he is charismatic, he torments Louisa with his nightly disappearances and his other relationships. Chloe, a dreamy musician, is naturally able to attract anyone to her–which inevitably results in conflict. Jack, the most sensible and cerebral of the group, is the only one with any practical farm experience. Mack, the last to join, believes it’s her calling to write their story–but she is not the most objective narrator, and inevitably complicates their increasingly tangled narrative. Initially exhilarated by restoring the rustic dwellings, planting a garden, and learning the secrets of fermentation, the group is soon divided by slights, intense romantic and sexual relationships, jealousies, and suspicions. And as winter settles in, their experiment begins to feel not only misguided, but deeply isolating and dangerous.

Caite Dolan-Leach spins a poignant and deeply human tale with sharp insights into our modern anxieties, our collective failures, and the timeless desire to withdraw from the world.

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday: April 24th, 2019

  1. Sounds like you are in for a busy week. That makes them go so fast though. I have not read anything about Lydia McDaniel but perhaps I should check out what she has written. Lots of interesting looking books on this post. Have a great weekend Jolie.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It did. The week flew by. The next few weeks are going to fly by too. I’ve got a lot going on in May…lol. I like Lynda McDaniel. She writes a good mystery!! You have a great weekend too Carla.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.