Springtime at Hope Cottage (Sweetwater Springs: Book 2) by Annie Rains

Springtime at Hope Cottage: Includes a bonus short story (Sweetwater Springs Book 2) by [Rains, Annie]

4 Stars

Publisher: Forever (Grand Central Publishing)

Date of publication: March 5th, 2019

Genre: Romance

Series: Sweetwater Springs

Christmas on Mistletoe Lane—book 1 (review here)

Springtime at Hope Cottage—book 2

A Wedding on Lavender Hill—book 2.5

Meet Me at Sweetwater Springs—book 2.75 (expected publication date August 6th, 2019

Snowfall on Cedar Trail—book 3 (expected publication date October 8th, 2019)

Where you can find Springtime at Hope Cottage: Amazon | Barnes and Noble | BookBub

Synopsis:

Fans of RaeAnne Thayne and Debbie Mason will want to cozy up with this small-town series from USA Today bestselling author Annie Rains.

When opposites attract…

As an editor at a major New York City magazine, Josie Kellum is always on the go…until an injury sidelines her in the small town of Sweetwater Springs. Luckily, her new physical therapist is easy going and easy on the eyes. When their sessions start to heat up, in more ways than one, Josie is intrigued. But she has a city and career she loves waiting for her. So why does the thought of leaving him suddenly feel a lot like leaving home? 

Tucker Locklear is just starting to move on after his wife’s death. While he can’t deny his attraction to the gorgeous, vivacious Josie, he won’t risk the pain of losing someone again. The sooner he gets Josie back on her feet and back to her real life, the safer he’ll be. But in Sweetwater Springs, love has a way of mending even the most damaged heart.

Includes the bonus short story “Last Chance Bride” from Hope Ramsay.


My review:

Josie needed a vacation. Sweetwater Springs is the obvious choice. Since her best friend runs a successful B&B. Josie meets Tucker when he picks her up at the airport. Her relationship with him continues after she falls and injures her knee. Tucker, a physical therapist, offers his services. The Josie receives a call. Her apartment was involved in a fire. Which means she can’t go home. Stuck, she agrees to live in an apartment above Tucker’s garage. What could go wrong?

Tucker has decided to move on after his wife’s death, 2 years ago. While he was attracted to Josie, he knows that having a relationship with her wouldn’t happen. But, the more they get thrown together, the more Tucker realizes that he needs Josie in his life. Can he convince her to stay in Sweetwater Springs?


Josie: I liked Josie’s character. I liked that she was real and that she was easy to relate to. She was a spitfire. She didn’t hold back her opinions on things. But she also had a soft side. She didn’t throw temper tantrums when her love interest had different views than her. Instead, she talked about it with him. I loved it.

Tucker: I liked him. He was the perfect foil for Josie’s character. Where she was always on the go, he was more laid back. I did like that he was a physical therapist. It was interesting to read about the different ways that he helped people heal. As for his relationship with Josie, he eased into it. There was no Instalove. No jumping into bed the first hour they met. Instead, he formed a relationship with her. It was refreshing to read.


Springtime at Hope Cottage was a great romance to read. The plot was easy to follow. The romance between Tucker and Josie was realistic and believable.

The plotlines of Springtime at Hope Cottage were well written. There was zero unnecessary drama in the book. Y’all know what I mean. A character comes out of nowhere to throw a wrench in the relationship of the main characters. Not here. The only surprise wasn’t a surprise. I figured it out early in the book. But, I still liked how that storyline played out

My only complaint with Springtime at Hope Cottage was that I didn’t get a feel for Tucker and Josie sexually. There was sexual tension but those scenes were far between. By the time they did have sex, I couldn’t get into it.

The end of Springtime at Hope Cottage was sweet. The author did a fantastic job of wrapping up all the storylines. Nothing was left hanging. There were no sudden twists in the plot. It was a sweet ending to a sweet story.


I would give Springtime at Hope Cottage an Adult rating. There is sex. There is language. There is mild violence. I would recommend that no one under the age of 21 read this book.

I would reread Springtime at Hope Cottage. I would also recommend this book to family and friends.


I would like to thank the author, the publisher, and NetGalley for allowing me to read and review Springtime at Hope Cottage.

All opinions stated in this review of Springtime at Hope Cottage are mine.


Have you read Springtime at Hope Cottage?

What are your thoughts on it?

Do opposites really attract?

Let me know!!

Advertisements