Highland Temptation (Highland Knights: Book 3) by Jennifer Haymore

Highland Temptation: A Highland Knights Novel by [Haymore, Jennifer]

Publisher: Random House Publishing-Loveswept, Loveswept

Date of publication: August 23rd, 2016

Genre: Romance

Where to find this book: Amazon

Book synopsis:

Jennifer Haymore’s sweeping Highland Knights series is perfect for readers of Maya Banks, Monica McCarty, and Sabrina Jeffries–and as the saga resumes, one of Scotland’s most steadfast warriors shields a broken beauty while she soothes the pain in his soldier’s heart.
 
When Lady Emilia Featherstone discovers that her despicable father has been scheming against the crown, she turns to the Highland Knights for protection–and retribution. Spirited away to a safe house on the outskirts of London, Emilia is surprised to find herself sharing close quarters with a soft-spoken, musclebound Highlander. Before long, curiosity gives way to an alarming attraction. Emilia has learned firsthand from her father that men are not to be trusted. She just never met one so honorable and loyal, so powerful and, yes, tempting.
 
Ever since Waterloo, Colin Stirling has struggled with memories that haunt him night and day. Driven near to madness, he no longer trusts himself with meaningful relationships of any kind. At least in this temporary sanctuary, Colin can withdraw from the world–that is, until his stunningly gorgeous charge learns the full depth of his pain. In Emilia, Colin sees a kindred spirit with battle scars of her own. He also senses a chance to heal . . . and to find love.

My review:

I am a sucker for historical romances. I love the period clothes, the courting of the women, the description of the ton….love it all. I love the Scots from this period. Every single book that I have read, they are the bad boys and I love it.

This book was no exception to that. But I wouldn’t class Colin as a “bad boy”.  He has PTSD and survivor’s guilt after fighting with the English Army at Waterloo. Emilia is his kindred spirit. She had been abused by her father and carries internal and external scars. Both Colin and Emilia touched my heart because of what they had gone through.

The story was good too. I mean, who doesn’t like a little mystery and intrigue with your romance? I know I do!!!

The only thing I can even complain about with this book is that it is the 3rd book in the series and you can tell. This is not a standalone book. The characters from the old books come into play here. They talk about what happened in previous books. Which annoys the ever-living out of me.

How many stars will I give Highland Temptation? 3.5

Why? It is a great book, very well researched but lagged in some spots. Also, the fact that it was the 3rd book in the series.

Will I recommend it to my family and friends? Yes

Will I reread it? Yes….after I read the other books first

Age range: Adult

Why? Sex scenes (which were very tastefully done) and a couple of scenes where Emilia is beaten like a horse.

Part of a series? Yes, it is Book 3 in the Highland Knights series

A Highlander’s Heart (Highland Knights, Book 0.5)

Highland Heat (Highland Knights, Book 1)

Highland Awakening (Highland Knights, Book 2)

Highland Temptation (Highland Knights, Book 3)

One thought on “Highland Temptation (Highland Knights: Book 3) by Jennifer Haymore

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.