Titanborn (Children of Titan: Book 1) by Rhett C. Bruno

Titanborn: (Children of Titan Book 1) by [Bruno, Rhett C.]

Publisher: Aethon Books

Date of publication: February 5th, 2019

Genre: Science Fiction, Thriller, Fiction, Adventure, Space, Space Opera, Action, Mystery, Adult, Fantasy

Series: Children of Titan

The Collector—Book 0.5

Titanborn—Book 1

Titan’s Son—Book 2

Titan’s Rise—Book 3

Titan’s Fury—Book 4

Titan’s Legacy—Book 5

Interview for the End of the World

This Long Vigil

Purchase Links: Amazon | Audible | B&N | AbeBooks | Alibris | IndieBound | Indigo | BetterWorldBooks


Goodreads Synopsis:

Offworlders are only worth the price on their heads.

After three decades as a Pervenio Corporation Collector, chasing wanted offworlders and extinguishing protests throughout the solar system, Malcolm Graves doesn’t bother asking questions. So long as the pay is right, he’s the man for the job. But his latest assignment doesn’t afford him that luxury.

A high-profile bombing on Earth has the men who sign Malcolm’s paychecks clamoring for answers. They force him to team up with a strange, augmented partner who’s more interested in statistics than instinct, and ship them both off to Titan to hunt down a suspected group of extremists: Titanborn rebels who will go to any length to free their home from the tyranny of Earth’s corporations.

Heading into hostile territory, Malcolm will have to use everything he’s learned to stay alive. But he soon realizes the situation on the ground is much more complex than he anticipated…and much more personal.

Check out the thrilling first book in a gritty and innovative science-fiction series perfect for fans of The Expanse and Blade Runner. You can also grab in on Audible performed by the award-winning RC Bray, narrator of The Martian.


Science fiction is one of my favorite types of books to read. I love reading about space exploration, different colonies, and the different races/species. I can thank my grandfather for influencing me in my love of sci-fi. He loved Star Trek and would watch the series and the movies all the time. He would encourage my 2 brothers and me to come and watch with him. He was always finding sci-fi books, reading them, and then giving them to me to read. It would be safe to say that my Papa would have loved this book.

This book is great, from the opening scene to the surprising ending. The back story is great too. Earth was decimated by an extinction-level meteor and lost about 99.9% of its population. Before the meteor hits, people were shipped off-world to one of the moons of Saturn. Then Earth lost contact with them. By the time the people of Earth got in contact with them again, 2-3 centuries had gone by. The descendants of those colonists had adapted to the climate of Titan. Earth has an interest in harvesting Saturn’s rings. They are terraforming/populating Titan. Which is pissing off the locals.

I liked the characters too. They were very flawed. Malcolm Graves is a workaholic/alcoholic who drove away his only daughter with his work. Zhaff was part of a top-secret research facility experiment called The Cognet. He is more like a human computer (has no emotions). An explanation later in the book made me go, “Ahhhhh, now I understand.

3 things I liked about Titanborn:

  1. Malcolm Graves
  2. Zhaff
  3. The story

3 things I disliked about Titanborn

  1. Aria
  2. The Ringers storyline
  3. Lucien Pervenio

I would recommend Titanborn to anyone over 21. There is extreme violence, language, and sexual situations.


If you enjoyed reading Titanborn, you will enjoy reading these books:

2 thoughts on “Titanborn (Children of Titan: Book 1) by Rhett C. Bruno”

Leave a Reply