A License to Wed (Rebellious Brides: Book 2) by Diana Quincy

A License to Wed: Rebellious Brides by [Quincy, Diana]

Publisher: Loveswept

Date of publication: July 5th, 2016

Genre: Romance, Historical Romance, Historical, Adult, Regency Romance, Regency, Spy Thriller, Espionage

Series: Rebellious Brides

Spy Fall—Book 1

A License to Wed—Book 2

From London with Love—Book 3 (review here)

The Duke Who Ravished Me—Book 4 (review here)

Purchase Links: Amazon | B&N | Indigo | Kobo | Apple Books

Goodreads Synopsis:

Perfect for readers of Madeline Hunter, Lisa Kleypas, and Sabrina Jeffries, the Rebellious Brides series continues with a sizzling tale of forbidden love between a socialite and a scholar—who might just be an infamous spy.

Lady Elinor Dunsmore made the mistake of falling for her older brother’s best friend, who vanished after a night of unbridled passion. Six years and a lifetime later, their eyes meet across a Paris salon. Her friends and family believe she’s dead, but Elle is very much alive. She’s now associated with a ruthless general, who wants her to seduce the man who broke her heart in order to learn his deepest secrets. Is Will a mild-mannered scholar—or the notorious agent they call The Razor?

The bastard son of an earl and an actress, Will Naismith always knew he was an unsuitable match for Elle Dunsmore, no matter how powerfully he ached for her. And yet he almost allowed his desires to spoil her glittering future. After the agony caused by Elle’s supposed death, Will has devoted himself to the Crown, but his entire life has been leading up to this unexpected reunion. As much as he still wants her, though, he must not succumb to lust once again. For his mission is delicate—and Elle is delectably dangerous.


I liked this book, even if it was a little “eh” for me. When I say “eh,” it isn’t bad, but some scenes made me roll my eyes. One of those scenes was with Elle’s maid, Sophie. She was a little too uppity for a maid (which makes me think there is a story in itself) for the era. And for some reason, it drove me crazy.

The story between Elle and Will was great. The sexual tension came across my Kindle and was built up. It was intense when they finally did the deed (I will NEVER look at hip tubs the same way again). So intense that I needed to put down my Kindle and fan myself a few times.

The storyline was pretty good too. Taking place in the early 1800’s French society, it described French society to a “T.” From the dress styles to the language to the laws about “bastard children,” it made for a fantastic read.

I couldn’t stand Elle. She rubbed me the wrong way and was too compliant with General Durant. She fought Will every single step of the way and refused to listen to him. There were some scenes where I wanted to reach through the pages and smack her.

3 Things I liked about A License to Wed:

  1. Will’s character
  2. Susanna
  3. the sexual tension

3 Things I disliked about A License to Wed:

  1. Elle (couldn’t stand her!!!)
  2. Will’s father
  3. General Gerard Durant

I would recommend A License to Wed to anyone over 21. There is minor violence, minor language, and graphic sex.


If you enjoyed reading A License to Wed, you will enjoy reading these books:

2 thoughts on “A License to Wed (Rebellious Brides: Book 2) by Diana Quincy”

Leave a Reply